Constitution Of the Governing Board of the Nigerian National Merit Award (NNMA)


 His Excellency, President Muhammadu Buhari (GCFR), President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria has approved the constitution of the Governing Board of the Nigerian National Merit Award (NNMA), by re-appointing four Members and the appointment of two new Members of the Governing Board.

The Governing Board Members are:

 Prof. (Engr.) S.Y. Aku                       Chairman       NW      (Renewal)

 Prof. Sheikh Abdallah, OON            Member           NC        (Renewal)

 Prof. Jinadu    Adele                         Member           SW         (Renewal)

 Prof Mohammed Hassan                 Member           NE        (Renewal)

 Prof. J.J Andy                                   Member           SS         (Renewal)

 Prof. S.C. Ohaegbulam                  Member       SE      (Fresh Appointment)

 Prof. W.B. Qurix                           Member       NW       (Fresh Appointment)

 Engr. Festus Y.N. Daudu                 Member representing FMSDIGA

The board members are selected from the six geo-political zones of the country. Their tenure which takes effect from 1st May, 2020 is for a period of three years. 

The Nigerian National Merit Award, an agency under the Federal Ministry of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs, has the primary responsibility to confer on deserving Nigerians the prestigious Nigerian National Order of Merit (NNOM) Award for outstanding contributions to national development in the areas of Science, Medicine, Engineering/Technology, Humanities including Arts and Culture among other fields of human endeavour.

The Honourable Minister of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs Senator George Akume has since congratulated the appointees. Meanwhile, as soon as arrangements are concluded, the date of the inauguaration of the new Governing Board will be announced in due course.


Engr. Festus Y.N Daudu

Permanent Secretary