FG Inaugurates Inter-Ministerial Technical Expert Committee

Minister of Special Duties - Senator George Akume

The Federal Government of Nigeria has inaugurated an Inter-Ministerial Technical Expert Committee to work out the modalities of lifting 100 million Nigerians out of poverty.

The Inter-Ministerial Committee which comprises of experts chosen from line Ministries in the country have been charged with the following terms of reference:

· Develop a framework of cooperation for all Stakeholders special intervention under public private partnership.

· Prepare a template for coordination of Inter-Governmental policies, projects and programmes.

· Harnessing of sundry opportunities for collaboration and cooperation among all Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) at all levels of governance to achieve Government’s objective of service delivery to its citizens.

The Minister of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs Sen. George Akume who serves as the Chairman of the Inter- Ministerial Committee of Ministers, noted that the aim of setting up the technical experts committee was to develop a road map and ensure a seamless cooperation of all Ministries, Departments and Agencies in order for the Ministry of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs to deliver on its mandates. This is in addition to achieving the objective of reducing cost of governance in the long run.

The Minister who was represented by the Permanent Secretary Engr. Festus Y. Daudu (FIMC) prayed for wisdom and knowledge for the committee to deliver on this noble task before them.  According to him, “You are the foot soldiers, your participation and contribution to the work of this committee will enable your name to be written in gold as your contribution to the promise of Mr. President’s promise to lift 100million Nigerians out of poverty in the next 10 years”.

The committee is being coordinated by the Federal Ministry of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Affairs with the Director Human Resources Dr. Bassey Etim Ekang coordinating the committee work.

The representatives of the Ministries of Health, Environment, Labour and Employment, Power, Sports and Youth Development, Water Resources, Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management, Women Affairs amongst others attended the inaugural meeting.

Osagie Jacobs Julie (Mrs.)
D.D Press