FG Inaugurates Interministerial Committee on Nigeria @ 61

SGF, Chairman, Interministerial Committee for 2021 Independence Anniversary (R) and Hon Minister of Industries,Trade and Investment and Chairman, Ownership Sub-Committee during the inauguration

The Federal Government has inaugurated a 12-member Inter-Ministerial Committee for the 2021 Independence Day Celebration to plan, organize and execute all approved activities befitting the 61st Anniversary on October 1st, 2021.
While inaugurating the Inter-Ministerial Committee in his office, The Chairman of Committee and the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, said he is confident that the members of the Committee would come up with innovative means of celebrating Nigeria’s 61st anniversary.

SGF urged the newly inaugurated Committee to articulate specific details of the 61st Anniversary celebration and to come up with an appropriate theme for it. In his words:
‘’As we prepare to articulate specific details of the 61st Anniversary celebration, it is also important that we come up with an appropriate theme that would speak not only to the present situation in the country but most importantly, the positive trajectory that we are all working towards for the greater benefit of all Nigerians”.

According to the SGF, the 60th Independence Anniversary was premised on a one-year celebration which spread over the period to end by September 30th 2021. He added that the committee would be implementing some of activities designed by the sub-committee which include an award night, church service, Jumma’at prayers and National Broadcast and Independence Day Parade.
He said that the theme of last year’s Independence Anniversary, “TOGETHER” has spoken to the events the nation has witnessed in the past one year which has contributed immensely in uniting the nation in spite the odds and are gradually addressing the issues that tend to separate us.

In his remarks, the Chairman of the Ownership Sub- Committee of the Nigeria @61 and the Honourable Minister of Industries, Trade and Investment, Otunba Adeniyi Adebayo gave the breakdown of the stewardship of the committee during the 60th Independence Anniversary which included the exhibition of made in Nigeria products, photo exhibitions that would showcase Nigeria’s political history, among others.
He said as part of the event marking the 61st Independence Anniversary, there would be Nigeria @60 Special Awards ceremony to recognized and honour 60 exceptional Nigerians who have contributed immensely to the development of the economy in September 3rd, 2021 at Congress Hall at Transcorp Hotel.
The 12-member Inter-Ministerial Committee for the year 2021 Independence Day celebration comprises of the following:
(i) Secretary to the Government of the Federation- Chairman
(ii) Minister of Information and Culture- Member
(iii) Minister of Interior- Member
(iv) Minister of FCT- Member
(v) Minister of Investments, Trade and Industry- Member
(vi) Minister of Health- Member
(vii) Permanent Secretary, Political and Economic Affairs Office Member/ Secretary
(viii) Permanent Secretary, General Services Office – Member
(Liaison with Ecumenical Centre)
(ix) Permanent Secretary, State House- Member
(Liaison with Abuja National Mosque and House Security)- Member
(x) Inspector General of Police (IGP)- Member
(xi) Director General, Department of State Service – Member
(xii) Commander, Guards Brigade- Member

Willie Bassey
Director (Information)
26th August, 2021