Ikechi Emenike Emerges Winner Of APC Governorship Primaries Election


FIC Report (Abia State) – The Chairman Governing Council, University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Dr. Ikechi Emenike has won the Governorship Primary Election of the All Progressive Congress in Abia state.

Announcing the result, the Returning Officer, Mr. Tony Obiefuna stated that the total number of accredited Delegates for the Primary Election was 920, total number of votes cast was 907. Valid votes was 892 while invalid votes was 15.

The Chairman of the APC, Hon. Kingsley Ononogbu who described the exercise as peaceful noted that Abia will be liberated come 2023 general election.

In his Acceptance Speech, Dr. Ikechi after pronouncement of his result thanked every Delegate and APC faithful adding that this is the time to work towards reclaiming back the state.

According to him, ” I accept this mandate from my Party with every sense of humility” saying that the era of Cultism is gone in Abia among other vices.

He assured all Abians not to go and sleep, stating that this is the begining of the begining “all men of good will whether you are in politics or out of politics this is not the time to sit on defence”

He urged all the party members not to relent, but do their best for the party to win the governorship election in the 2023 general election.

He polled a total number of 672 Votes to defeat his closest rival, Chief Emeka Atuma who scored 159 votes.

Other Aspirants in the Primary Election including the immediate past Minister of State for Mines and Steel,Chief Uche Ogah got 6 votes, chief Daniel Eke got 16 votes, while Prince Paul Ikonne polled 22 votes.

The rest were chief Alex Otti who scored 14 votes and a former commissioner for finance in the state, chief Obinna Oriaku who polled 12 votes

Earlier before the counting of the votes, three of the Aspirants who alleged to be against the Election protested that the National Working Committee approved for a direct primaries frowning therefore the contrary exercise of Indirect Primary which is been conducted.

The Returning Officer for the primary election declared Dr. Ikechi Emenike the Winner of the Election.End.

Okugo Mabel Nwadiuto
FIC, Umuahia.