Kaduna State Government Retained 14 Ministries with 3 New Ones.

Federal Government of Nigeria

KADUNA (FIC Report) – In a statement by the Kaduna State Government spokesman, Mr. Samuel Aruwan, which was made available to News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Saturday, announced the government structure for the 2nd term of Governor Nasir El-Rufai.

The Spokesman noted that the Governor had signed an Executive Order, creating 3 new Ministries, abolishing 3 others, while amending the mandate of 3 others.

The Order abolished the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism, the Ministry of Rural and Community Development and Ministry of Water Resources, while it amended the mandate of the Ministries responsible for Local Government, Women and Social Development, Works and Sports.

The newly created Ministries are; Ministry of Business, Innovation and Technology, which will coordinate the development of skills, business trade and manufacturing in the State. It also takes over the technology portfolio from the Ministry of Education and is expected to encourage the development of the digital ecosystem in the State.

Ministry of Housing and Urban Development has the mandate to ensure the construction and maintenance of public buildings and promote the expansion of the housing stock in the State. It would also be in charge of ensuring the enforcement of development control regulations and the implementation of Urban and Country Planning Policies, as well as urban renewal programmes in the State.

The Ministry of Internal Security and Home Affairs has the mandate to coordinate internal security matters and liaise with security agencies in the State. It is expected to enhance the State Government’s capacity to address security challenges and supervise activities of Parastatals and Agencies performing home affairs functions.

Ministries with amended or expanded mandates include; Human Service and Social Development, which mandate is a significant expansion of the work of the former Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Development.

Others are, the Ministry of Public Works and Infrastructure and the Ministry of Sport Development.

As a result, the Executive Order prescribes that the Kaduna State Government would operate with 14 Ministries. The statement also noted that the list of Commissioners nominated to lead these Ministries would be forwarded to the Kaduna State House of Assembly, as soon as it reconvenes.