Minister Inaugurates Audience Measurement Panel in Move To Boost Broadcast, Advert Industries

L-R: Registrar and Chief Executive of Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria, Dr. Olalekan Fadolapo; Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, and the Director General, National Broadcasting Commission, Mallam Balarabe Ilelah, at the inauguration of the Audience Measurement Task Force in Abuja Tuesday.

The Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, has said putting in place a scientific audience measurement system will boost investments in Nigeria’s broadcast and advertising industries.

”We are committed to delivering an empirical audience measure system that will catalyze investment in broadcast and advertising industries, ensure the success of the DSO project as well as fire the imagination and boost the morale of creatives.

”We are undaunted by the enormity of the challenges we face in this regard, because we have a bunch of committed, patriotic and hardworking men and women to tackle the challenges headlong,” the Minister said while inaugurating the 15-member committee, which has Mr. Tolu Ogunkoya as Chairman.

He said the inauguration is the culmination of a series of events that included the setting up of the Task Team on Audience Measurement and the selection of First Media and Entertainment Integrated (Nigeria) Limited, a marketing research company based in Lagos, to deliver audience measurement services in Nigeria.

Alhaji Mohammed said the absence of a scientific audience measurement system has resulted in under-development in the broadcast and advertising industries and stunted their growth.

”Nigeria’s broadcast advertising market is punching far below its weight, especially when the country’s population is taken into account. Despite having a population more than three times that of South Africa, Nigeria’s television advertising market revenue in 2016 was US$309 million, compared to that of South Africa, which was US$1.3 billion. Nigeria’s broadcast advertising market is also third in Africa, behind that of South Africa and Kenya.

”The immediate challenge before us, therefore, is to bring the under-performing Nigeria TV and radio advertising market to what it should be – which is two or three times what it is now. If we do that, it could result in additional US$400 million revenue or more in the industry in the next three years,” he said

The Minister said a scientific audience measurement system is also critical to the success of the DSO, adding: ”The existing model will never allow Nigeria’s Creative Industry to
reach its full potential. It stunts the quality of the content that can be created and also limits the capacity of television platforms to invest in dynamic contents that consumers will
be attracted to.”

He charged the Task Force to Identify best practice audience measurement system that will support the sustainable growth of the Nigerian Creative and Entertainment Industry; supervise the established framework for supporting the sustainability of the audience measurement system, independent of the Federal Government; and recommend a payment and disbursement framework
among the key stakeholders in the industry, that is; Broadcasting Organizations of Nigeria (BON), Media Independent Practitioners Association of Nigeria (MIPAN) and Advertisers Association of Nigeria (ADVAN).

Alhaji Mohammed also challenged the Task Force to urgently grow the Nigerian television advertisement market to two or three times its current size.

Responding, the Task Force Chairman, Mr. Ogunkoya, promised that his panel would take the charge by the Minister very seriously, adding: ”If we get this right, we would have done the industry and the nation proud.”

PIC 2: The Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed (middle), and members of the Audience Measurement Task Force, after their inauguration in Abuja Tuesday.

Other members of the Task Force are Mr. Femi Adelusi, Mr. Steve Babaeko, Mrs. Bunmi Adeniba, Mrs Jibe Ologe, Mr. Yinka Oduniyi, Mr Guy Murray Bruce, Ms Kadaria Ahmed, Mrs. Pauline Ehusani, Mrs.Ijedi Iyoha, Alhaji Garba Bello Kankarofi, Mrs. Sa’a Ibrahim, Mr. Mahmoud Ali-Balogun, Mr. Obi Asika and Mr. Joe Mutah (Secretary)

Segun Adeyemi
Special Assistant To The President (Media)
Office of the Minister of Information and Culture
18Jan. 2022