Minister of Police Affairs Inaugurates Committee on the Nigerian Police Trust Fund.


ABUJA (Min of Police Affairs Report) – The Minister of Police Affairs, Muhammad Maigari Dingyadi, has inaugurated a 12 Member Ministerial Interim Committee on the Nigeria Police Trust Fund, chaired by the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry, Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri.

This is in line with President Muhammadu Buhari’s commitment at tackling insecurity in the country, through the establishment of the Ministry of Police Affairs and his assent to the Nigeria Police Trust Fund establishment Act,2019, aimed at providing legal framework for training and provision of security equipment, to enhance skills of personnel of the Nigeria Police Force.

While inaugurating the Committee on the 8th October, 2019, Dingyadi expressed confidence in them. He explained that Members of the Committee were carefully selected and are made up of Directors/Heads of Units of the Ministry and Senior Members of the Police hierarchy, to meet various sector requirements.

He further expressed his desire for an early take- off of the trust fund and read out the terms of reference to include among others:

a) Draw up the take-off budget for the Trust fund;

b) Liaise with the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation for a suitable office accommodation for the administration of Funds;

c) Determine the logistics and other necessary requirements for the effective take-off of the Fund

d) Develop an organizational structure for the administration of staff of the fund;

e) Develop a timeline for the take-off of the Fund and

f) Propose a date for the inauguration of the board

While speaking, the Chairman and Permanent Secretary of the Ministry, Dr. Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri, assured the Minister that the Committee was set to work and would not disappoint, bearing in mind the importance of the task which bothers on security and the priority placed through the establishment of the Trust Fund Act.

He promised to regularly update the Minister and to give the best opinion in the setting up of the Board for the Trust Fund by the Committee

Members of the committee include:-

1. Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri FCA – Permanent Secretary – Chairman

2. Dr. Kayode Musbau K – DFA Member

3. Bombata Babatunde. H – DHRM Member

4. Barr. Moremi Soyinka- Onijala – D(PID) Member

5. Afroka Emmanuel Chukudi SA/Perm. Sec. Member

6. Joseph O Egbunike – CP Member

7. Shehu Usman Shuaibu – AG.CP Member

8. Augustine Akpofure Saromi Fsi – DCP Member

9. Jonathan Towruru – DCP Member

10. Emeka Frank Mba – DCP/FPPRO Member

11. Abel Jangnap Miri Zwalchir – ACP Member

12. Zubairu M.G – D(PSD) Member

The Committee thereafter sat for its inaugural meeting..