Nasarawa State Government Employs 2000 Teachers

Alh Tanko Almakura

LAFIA – NASARAWA STATE – (FIC LAFIA Report) – The Governor of Nasarawa State, Umaru Tanko Al-makura has revealed that the State Government has employed over 2000 teachers into its basic education and secondary school levels. He also informed that the State Government is initiating collaboration with the Police High Command towards establishing a Police College in the state.

He disclosed this during the induction programme for the newly employed teachers in the state recently. He later explained that the decision of his administration to employ teachers to fill in the vacancies created in the State Teaching Service was based on his desire to uplift the standard of education and inject new talents as well as intellectuals into the state basic and secondary school levels for optimum performance.

The Governor indicated that the employment of over 2000 teachers who were on probation over one year was to demonstrate his passion and commitment to standardizing the education sector for enhanced teaching, learning processes and high performance across the basic and secondary school levels in the state. He pointed out that this is the first time his administration is employing such a large number of teachers in the state.

Speaking on the proposed establishment of a Police College in the state, the Governor espoused that it will go a long way in complimenting his administration’s efforts and give a boost to the educational developments in the state.

He charged the newly employed teachers to ensure that they impact the best knowledge to the students in their various schools of assignment, in order to enhance their academic performance and reciprocate government’s gestures on improved learning. He stressed that part of his administration’s achievement in the education sector is the building of the ‘Ta’al Model Primary and Junior Schools’; the establishment of Special Schools for all categories of disabilities as well as the establishment of Command Secondary Schools in three Senatorial Zones of the state.